“Live Long and Prosper”

Hey guys! I’m back once again!

First things first, may you rest in peace, Mr. Spock (Leonard Nimoy). You will be dearly missed. We’ve lost yet another man who changed how we looked at the world. (I know, I know…3 days late. I got busy, k?) Sigh…another one bites the dust 😦

A moment of silence, please…

Alright! Now, back to business…Sorry I’ve been gone for so long. My dad came back to visit from SG last week (yeah, he’s still there…we’re nagging him to move back, but he acts…slow), and the whole fam and I went to Baguio!!! Yesh! (Check out my Instagram, @agnesdj, for all the photos!) It’s like a mountain city. Green everywhere, sloping roads, slanted houses, etc. The people there get exercise everyday just by walking across the street to their neighbor’s house. And the schools there look great. AND we got lucky with the timing of our trip because it was just nearing the end of Spring…so it was still a bit cold, and the sun didn’t burn too much. Would highly recommend that you go there if you’re really into hiking, backpacking, photographing nature, meeting native tribes, or shopping for knitted (or crocheted) anything!

The trip was actually my suggestion. I asked my parents if we could explore the Philippines instead of having a birthday party when I turn 18 this August. You see, in Filipino culture, once a girl reaches 18 years of age, her parents throw this HUGE (and I mean HUGE) party to celebrate her ‘becoming a woman’. We call it a ‘debut‘. The events that take place are pretty much similar to the Spanish ‘quinsiñera‘. One of the things that differ is that the celebrant must invite 18 of her closest/most trusted friends–9 boys, and 9 girls–and she must dance with all the boys, and save the last dance for her dad. These things are really important, and for most traditional Filipino families, this is the number one thing they save up for, besides college. It’s like, parties and fiestas are a big thing for us Filipinos, or so I’ve noticed, and I’m just here going, “Meh…let’s just go up a mountain.” Hm, I don’t know…I’m just really not one to stick to tradition. (Oh man, wait ’til you here about my views on marriage…)

Anyways, that’s 2 things off of my list of things I wanted to talk about. Yay.

Finally, I picked up a pen the other day and guess what? No, I didn’t write anything. (I type things now.)
I. Drew. Something.
Haha, it’s a big thing! I haven’t drawn anything legit in 3 1/2 months! SOOOOO out of practice, but the drawing looked…decent?
I was flipping through some pictures of pictures of the natives from various mountain provinces in the Philippines, and I saw this old Ifugao lady who looked just like Disney’s Pocahontas. I swear, it looked just like her! (Which woudln’t make sense, I know…’coz Pocahontas is native American…but hey, it’s been proven that the native tribes here and in America have similar DNA, and therefore, could all be related to one another…So…Pocahontas’ grandma’s distant Filipina cousin?) Haha…okay. In all seriousness, her face just intrigued me and so I chose to draw her. But little did I know that I wouldn’t mess up a human face for once. Everything I draw humans it’s never ended well…but this time, it did! And now, I touch that page of my doodling pad every night, still in awe of my awesomeness. (Check it out on Instagram 🙂 )

Oh, and if you like my posts, remember to hit that like button and share it with your friends and family 🙂
OR, you could check out my other blog for totes true short stories/confessionals I wouldn’t dare tell ANYONE in person: https://confessionfridays.wordpress.com/

That’s all for now. Until next time,
Agnes

Leave a Reply

