Exam week

Heyyo, people of the Internet!

Finally back with another post!  It’s actually the start of our finals this week, and it ends some time next week (and then summer break, here I come).  But, as usual, I don’t really study for any of my exams…especially now that I’m taking Fine Arts and most of my exams can’t exactly be studied.  So if I’m not already being honest enough right now, exam time is actually when I am the most free.

Growing up in a country (or maybe I should say continent) that puts SO MUCH importance on school and grades, I often observed most of my classmates/schoolmates being so stressed and lethargic during exam time, due to burning the midnight oil, being too nit-picky with their assignments, mental and emotional breakdowns, and even suicidal thoughts.  And I just felt really bad for them because they’re growing up thinking that school and grades are just that – super stressful and the only thing that will make their parents proud.

Personally, studying everyday even until the day of the exam has never worked.  I get so stressed and so engrossed in all the info I’m trying to absorb that my mind just becomes so….artificial?  Like I’m a computer storing all this info that I’ll probably only use for that one day.  It felt like my humanity was just draining out of me like a running tap.

Don’t get me wrong, studying allows me to revisit the earlier topics that I may have forgotten or was unsure of before.  I’m not saying that studying is bad for you.  It’s pretty helpful.  I just don’t think you have to overdo it like that.  Besides, if you payed attention in class and understood the concepts during the lesson, you wouldn’t even need to study so hard…I think what you’d need is to use the knowledge in practice – worksheets, tutoring/teaching your classmates or siblings at home, or in daily life in conversations, observations or even chores.

Just a quick note about the whole “teaching your classmates or siblings” thing:  If you can successfully explain a complicated thing to someone who previously didn’t understand or who may not have even heard of it before, give yourself a pat on the back!  To be able to do that, you must have a solid understanding of the main concept or essence of the topic.  Only with that kind of understanding would you even be able to explain it in a language even your 5-year-old sibling would understand (i.e. layman’s terms).  I’ve found this to be my favorite way of using what I’ve learned in class in practice, and it’s never failed me.  Not only do you get to practice what you’ve learned, you’d also get some bonding/quality time with a friend or family member.  So really, if you think about it, it’s a win-win situation.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is CHILL!  Take it easy, don’t be so hard on yourself, and don’t forget to have fun.  What I do, if you’d like to know, is I go out and treat myself to my favorite food or just sit and sip my coffee at a nice cafe.  If you’re really as hard-working as you’ve been, you deserve to be treated well, even if the treat just comes from yourself.  There’s no shame in that!  Take it from Ms. ForeverAlone herself.

Anyways, gotta go.  I was just feeling really good today because I got through one heck of a stressful presentation with some really annoying pricks who didn’t really do any real work.  Heh, same old, same old.

Nighty-night, and thanks for reading!

Agnes D.J.

Leave a Reply

