The Raven’s Caw

Hark!

A lone
Little
Black bird
Beckons

Familiar yet
It still sends
Shivers
Down my spine

Caw!
Hark, the
raven’s
call

I glance
Back
One
Becomes three

Their hideous
Black plumage
A dreadful
Sight

I begin
To sweat
At this growing
Cluster of black

Caw! Caw!

I glance
Three
Becomes
Seven

My soul
Is marked
A great debt
To be repaid

Death comes
To collect
Soon
Perhaps

Like the boatman
At Styx
Collecting coin
For passage

Caw! Caw!
Caw–

The room fills
With black like
An early morning mist
Rolls over the bog

Death comes
Closer
Death comes
Swift

Caw! Caw!

He laughs
A sinister laugh
“A life
For a life”

I try
To push through
To find
The light

Caw! Caw!
Caw!

“You can’t
escape me
twice”
he says

Caw!

I’m shrouded
By black

I am
Blinded

Unable
To move

A familiar
Feeling

I surrender

CAW!

Silence.
A deafening
silence.

Darkness
fades.

I awaken.

Hark!

A lone
little
bluejay
beckons

I glance
Around me
Sunlight
Fills the room

A nightmare
Relived
My demise
Delayed

But soon
They’ll be back
Again

And I will
Still cower
In fear

Death will
come again.
Death, my
dear friend.

Leave a comment